Twenty20 Cup: Sialkot retains the National Title

Posted on October 8, 2008
Filed Under >Owais Mughal, Economy & Development
Total Views: 28022

Owais Mughal

Fourth edition of National Twenty20 Cup concluded in Lahore today with Sialkot Stallions retaining the Champions title for third year running. Runners Up Karachi Dolphins were left wondering about their luck and skills as they have now appeared in 3 Finals in the past 4 tournaments and lost everytime.

Final Score: Karachi Dolphins (125/9), Sialkot Stallions (126/3). Detailed Scorecard here

Following have been winners and runners-up of 4 twenty-20 national tournaments that have been played in Pakistan so far.

2004/05: Winner: Faisalabad Wolves, Runners Up: Karachi Dolphins
2005/06: Winner: Sialkot Stallions, Runners Up: Faisalabad Wolves
2006/07: Winner: Sialkot Staliions, Runners Up: Karachi Dolphins
2007/08: Winner: Sialkot Stallions, Runners Up: Karachi Dolphins

13 teams from all over Pakistan took part in this year’s tournament. They were divided into 4 pools with winners of each pool qualifying for semi-finals. The points table at the end of pool matches looked as below.

Semi Final 1: Karachi Dolphins (69/1) beat Islamabad Leopards (68)
Semi Final 2: Sialkot Stallions (117/6) beat Lahore Lions (111/6)

Karachi and Sialkot both had a star-studded team. To me, atleast on paper Karachi’s team looked stronger with services of 6 players who have representated Pakistan’s national team.

Karachi was lead by Shahid Afridi. It also had Pakistan’s 5 other ODI players: Fawad Alam, Sohail Khan, Naumanullah, Khurram Manzoor and wicket keeper Sarfraz Ahmed.

Sialkot was lead by Pakistan’s national team captain Shoaib Malik and it also had the services of Pakistan’s 3 national ODI players Mansoor Amjad, Abdur Rehman and Kashif Raza and 1 test player Qaiser Abbas.

Shoaib Akhtar ki wapsi

Ofcourse a big news for this year’s tournament has been the return of Shoaib Akhter. He played for Islamabad Leopards and his performance remained as follows

v Karachi Dolpins: 4 runs in batting and 3-0-22-0 in bowling.
v Multan Tigers: did not bat and 4-1-14-1 in bowling
v Peshawar Panthers: 3 runs in batting and 4-0-30-1 in bowling

12 responses to “Twenty20 Cup: Sialkot retains the National Title”

  1. Owais Mughal says:

    Pakistan’s 8th National T-20 Cup concluded today. Rawalpindi Rams emerge as the new champion while Karachi Dolphins lost their 5th Final match in 8 years. This must be a record of losing Finals!

    2011/12: Rawalpindi Rams, 2nd: Karachi Dolphins
    2010/11: Lahore Lions, 2nd: Karachi Dolphins
    2009/10: Sialkot Stallions, 2nd: Faisalabad Wolves
    2008/09: Sialkot Stallions, 2nd: Lahore Lions
    2007/08: Sialkot Stallions, 2nd: Karachi Dolphins
    2006/07: Sialkot Staliions, 2nd: Karachi Dolphins
    2005/06: Sialkot Stallions 2nd: Faisalabad Wolves
    2004/05: Faisalabad Wolves 2nd: Karachi Dolphins

  2. Owais Mughal says:

    Faraz, I agree with your assessmant. Sialkot performed very well inspite of missing some of their big names. Karachi team looked much stronger on paper but got defeated by a better performance from Sialkot.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *